List of National Party in India 2023

India has always been a Multi-party system, there
are currently six national parties in India. AAP, BSP, BJP, CPI -M, and NPP (the first national party from the Northeast region).

In India, there are more than 56 state-recognized parties as of 2023.

There are currently six national parties in India and over 56 state-recognized parties and 2000+ unrecognized parties

Eligibility for National Party

If a political Party wants to be recognised as a National party By the Election Commission of India (ECI), It needs to fulfil certain Objectives.

To be Recognised as a National Political Party, one to fulfil any one of the following three conditions –

  1. If a party wins 2% of seats in the Lok Sabha (as of 2014, 11 seats) from at least 3 different States.
  2. At a General Election to Lok Sabha or Legislative Assembly, the party polls 6% of votes in four States in addition to 4 Lok Sabha seats.
  3. A party is recognized
  4. as a State Party in four or more States

Based on the following, if Recognized as National Party it enjoys certain privileges like Reversed party symbol, free broadcast time on state-run television and radio and more.

Based on the following there are 6 National Political Parties in the Country as of 2023 –

  1. BHARATIYA JANTA PARTY popularly known as BJP was established on 6 April 1980. It is a National party having a reserved symbol of A Lotus.

  1. Indian National Congress –
    Known as INC was established in the time of 1885 for fighting for Independence against the Britishers. It enjoys the Status of a National Party and has the symbol of the Hand

  1. Communist Party of India (Marxist)
    It is popularly known as CPI -M, established in 1964. It is one of the recognised national parties with a strong presence in Tripura, Kerala and West Bengal.

  1. Aam Admi party
    It is one the prominent parties in India that were established in 2012 and earlier was a reconsigned state party and recently got approved as a national party

  1. Bahujan Samjh party
    It is one of the national parties that represent Bahujan referring to SCs, ST and other backwards religious minorities. It was established in 1984 and enjoys National Party status.

  1. National People Party
    It is popularly known as NPP which was established in 2013. It is the national-level party that enjoys influence mainly in the state of Meghalaya.

These parties enjoy the National level status as in 2023

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *