Hekani Jakhalu becomes the first woman MLA in Nagaland, writes history.

Image Source: youthnet.org.in

PDPP’s Hekani Jahalu made history by becoming the first woman elected to the 60-member Nagaland Parliament. Jahalu has been declared the winner of the Dimapur-III constituency in the 2023 Nagaland State Assembly elections. She defeated LJP’s Azeto Jimomi (Ram Vilas) by 1536 votes. Mrs. Jahalu is an American-educated lawyer and social entrepreneur. The 48-year-old does her advocacy through YouthNet, a nonprofit she founded nearly 20 years ago.

“Society in Nagaland has been very patriarchal but the mindset is changing. This reflects in the time and energy the NDPP is spending on me and my fellow candidate, Salhoutuonuo Kruse contesting the Western Angami seat,” she told The Hindu during a break from campaigning. 

She was recognised with the Nari Shakti Puraskar award in 2018. This year, Salhoutuonuo Kruse and Jahalu became the first women from Nagaland to be elected to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Hekhani Jakhaulu, Salhoutuo Kruse, Hukali Sema and Rosy Thompson, four women candidates contested the Nagaland Assembly election this time.As per the Election Commission’s website, Salhoutuo Kruse of NDPP is representing herself from the Western Angami seat and BJP’s Hukali Sema is also leading from the Atoizu constituency. 

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *