Tripura Elections 2023: 81% voter turnout recorded till 4 pm amidst intermittent violence

Over 28 lakh voters in the northeastern state of Tripura are eligible to vote in the border state’s election for a 60-member assembly.

The BJP ran candidates from the Ampinagar constituency on 55 of the seats, while its ally ran candidates on six of the seats.

The Left, which consisted of the CPM, Forward Bloc, Communist Party of India (CPI), and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), ran for 47 seats, compared to 13 for Congress. Pradyot Kishore Debbarma, the head of the TIPRA Motha, ran for 42 seats.

Vote tallying will commence on March 2. 

To defeat the incumbent BJP, Congress and CPIM, who have been bitter rivals for years, formed a pre-election alliance. A triangular contest is therefore expected.

In the meantime, the BJP is running in coalition with the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura to hold onto power (IPFT). The Tipra Motha, regarded as a kingmaker in the case of a hung assembly, first gained prominence as a significant regional party in 2021 after being launched by the royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarma.

The BJP first made an effort to establish a relationship with the Tipra Motha, but its efforts were rejected. Tipra Motha strengthened its stance when the BJP stated that it would not permit the separation of Tripura and retaliated against the BJP by claiming to be the “B Team of CPM-Congress.”

“In Nagaland, the BJP is a B-Team. They are a B-Team of another party in Shillong, Garo Hills, and Meghalaya. You belong to the Mizoram B-Team of another party. You are the AIADMK’s backup group in Tamil Nadu. You are the B-Team of the Akali Dal in Punjab. BJP is the B-team of several Indian political parties. Tipra Motha doesn’t give in or make concessions “According to Mr Debbarma, whose party is running for 42 seats.

Himanta Biswa Sarma, the chief minister of Assam and the BJP’s regional spokesman, forecast that the party will score significantly better in all three of the northeastern states that will be voting in this round. Meghalaya and Nagaland both have elections scheduled for February 27. On March 2, the votes will be tallied.

Sporadic incidents of violence amid election

During the assembly elections, sporadic acts of violence were also reported. In the Kakraban assembly constituency of the Gomati district, two CPI(M) poll workers were also severely beaten. According to him, at the West Tripura district’s Khayerpur, a vehicle belonging to Pabitra Kar’s CPI(M) candidate’s polling agent was also vandalized. 

In the Boxanagar area of the Sepahijala district, a CPI(M) local committee secretary was injured in an attack by unidentified individuals. He was transferred to a nearby hospital, where a police officer reported that his status was stable.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *