Dr Manik Saha takes oath as Chief Minister of Tripura for the second time, 8 other ministers join him

Dr Manik Saha takes oath as Chief Minister of Tripura for the second time, 8 other ministers join him

FnRhwbMvHedZPU9oGRHZ1xC7TEtqzMsK2WCkZ8Qy9mYZTxI4egiccS8dkY3Xvpd26KX VAfHEPhSpqUPPrzC d RTydXvinGADLPj jm1PyX6PiIM3hPsRQ1slveTO

                                                  Image source: Business Today

Manik Saha took oath as the Chief Minister for the second time today after the Bharatiya Janata Party emerged victorious in the recently concluded assembly polls

                                                     Bharatiya Janata Party ( BJP) leader Manik Saha took oath as the Chief Minister of the state of Tripura for the second time in a row today. The oath ceremony was held at Vivekananda Maidam in Agartala in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda, and BJP’s main man in the North East Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

On Monday, Dr. Saha staked a claim for government formation to the governor after his name was announced by the party’s high command as the Chief Minister. The other MLAs who took the oath with Manik Saha include- Ratan Lal Nath, Santana Chakma, Tinku Roy, Sushanta Chowdry, Pranjit Singha, Bikas Debbarma, Shukla Charan Noatia, and Sudhangshu Das.

In the recently declared results of polls which took place on 17th February 2023, the BJP emerged victorious in 32 seats out of 60 with a vote share of around 39%. Tipra Motha the newly formed party emerged as the second-largest party taking 13 seats. Manik Saha took oath for the 1st time as Chief Minister in 2022 replacing Biplab Deb, just a few months before the assembly polls.

Before becoming Chief Minister in 2022, he never contested any election his first election was from Town Borrowdale the seat he retained in this election too. He was made state President of the BJP in 2020 and he worked a lot at the grassroots after taking the responsibility of state BJP Chief.

EFMNchXoJxec8T56zP6bsvrNk9gBodKvoBEMv0 oIoStmI gMnXD1AjCzx aQgwrRvvA jPvmuMASN16Io14VK2gXtQeCNUKe3viODwX3OMhFDuO6kKIBYH2M7FcFl1IK39T7fkqE0V2AP OUGyAA
 Image source:  Scroll

Manik Saha got inducted into the BJP in 2016 after quitting Congress. He was elected to the upper house in March 2022. It was his clean image that help him achieve the Chief Minister’s chair after Biplab Dev was removed due to his decreasing popularity.

The sources say Union Minister Pratima Bhowmik will give up her Dhanpur seat and will hold on to her parliamentary seat of West Tripura. After the elections, the name of Pratima Bhowmik was also announced as the probable Chief Minister but the speculations came to an end after Saha’s name was announced.

Congress- CPM boycotts swearing-in ceremony

Opposition Congress and CPM stayed away from the swearing-in ceremony of the BJP government in protest against the “unprecedented reign of terror unleashed by the BJP supporters”.

A report said that Congress and CPM leaders were invited to the swearing-in ceremony of the new government but they decided to stay away in protest against violence carried out by BJP workers on opposition leaders.

Tags :

1 thought on “Dr Manik Saha takes oath as Chief Minister of Tripura for the second time, 8 other ministers join him”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *